Governing Body Structure

The Governing Body currently does not operate a committee structure.  Most decisions are taken by the full Governing Body, with committees formed as and when appropriate to address specific issues.  For details of any governors who served last academic year and whose term of office has now ended please see attendance register page.

All our governors agree to adopt and adhere to a Code of Conduct, full details of which can be found below:

We are always keen to hear from individuals who have an interest in becoming a governor.  If you would like to speak to someone about opportunities which may be available or would like to find out more information please contact Helen Flesher, Chair of Governors by emailing secretary@bentonpark.net, marking your email for the attention of the Chair of Governors.

NameBasis of AppointmentRole & ResponsibilityTerm of OfficeBusiness & Financial Interests

Governance roles in other schools

Helen FlesherCo-optedChair of Governors


Post 16

5/2018 – 5/2022None declared
Julian CloughParentVice Chair


Safeguarding and Child Protection


5/2018 – 5/2022None declared
Helen PembertonCo-optedDisadvantaged Students & Attendance12/2018 – 12/2022Chair of Governors at Newlaithes Primary School


Governor Crossgates Primary School Leeds


Delia MartinHeadteacherSchool VisitsGovernor St Wilfrid’s Primary School Ripon
Angela RonicleCo-opted 

Higher Ability Students

Reading & Literacy

4/2018 – 4/2022Governor at Roundhay All Through School


Jo WelbourneStaff GovernorHealth & Safety7/2018 – 7/2022None declared
Janet ClarksonCo-opted 

Safeguarding and Child Protection



10/2019 – 10/2023None declared
Victoria Clarke-DunnParentPersonal Development: Social and Health Education & Student Leadership

Workload, Wellbeing and Mental Health

Relationships and Sex Education

3/2019 – 3/2023Basis Yorkshire Trustee
Michael GraceCo-optedCareers1/2020 – 1/2024None declared